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2011 GUIDE TO THE IDAHO IMMUNIZATION REQUIREMENTS FOR 

Parents of Children Attending Licensed Childcare Facilities 
 

 
The Idaho Childcare Immunization Law requires that children be up-to-date on their immunizations 
(shots) to attend licensed childcare facilities. Whenever children are brought into group settings, 
there is a potential for the spread of infectious diseases. Diseases like chickenpox, measles, and 
whooping cough spread quickly, so children need to be protected before they enter childcare.  

 
You will need to present your child’s immunization record to the childcare facility operator within 14 
days of initial attendance. The immunization record must show the date (month, day, and year) your 
child was given each required shot. If you do not have an immunization record or your child has not 
received all required shots, call your doctor or local health department now for an appointment. 

  
 

Review your child’s immunization record to make sure you have a date for each shot required for 
childcare.  Please note most children need booster shots before starting kindergarten.  
 

SUMMARY OF CHILDCARE IMMUNIZATION REQUIREMENTS 

Age-
Deadline 

to  
Obtain 

Required 
Doses 

Required Immunizations for Childcare Attendance 
All doses must meet minimum ages and intervals (Number of doses of Hib and Rotavirus required 

depends on vaccine brand type.) 

DTaP
1
 Polio

2
 MMR Hep B 

Haemophilus 
influenza type b 

(Hib)
3
 Varicella Hep A 

Pneumo-
coccal

4
 

Rotavirus
5
 

Act- Hib 
Pedvax 

Hib 
Rotarix 
(RV1) 

RotaTeq 
(RV5) 

3 months 1 1  1 1 1   1 1 1 

5 months 2 2  2 2 2   2 2 2 

7 months 3    3    3  3 

16 months   1  4 3 1 1 4   

19 months  4 3  3        

2 years        2    

7 years (or 

school entry) 5 4 2    2     

1.  DTaP:  The 5th dose is not necessary if the 4th dose was administered at age 4 years or older. 
2.  Polio:  The 4th dose is not necessary if the 3th dose was administered at age 4 years or older and at least 6 months after previous dose. 
3.  Hib:  Generally not recommended for children aged 5 years or older. 
4.  Pneumococcal:  Generally not recommended for children aged 5 years or older. Children aged 14 through 59 months who received a   
      completed 4-dose or other age-appropriate series of PCV7, must also receive a supplemental dose of PCV13. 
5.  Rotavirus: Vaccination should not be initiated for infants aged 15 weeks 0 days or older. The maximum age for the final dose is 8 months. 

 
If your child’s record is missing some doses, please contact your doctor or clinic now to obtain the full 
immunization record or any doses needed. If your child recently received immunizations and needs 
an immunization later in the year, he/she can be allowed to attend, provided you complete the 
Conditional Attendance form and get the remaining doses when they become due. 

If your child is not immunized due to medical, religious, or philosophical reasons, let the childcare 
facility operator know. 
 

 Section 39-1118, Idaho Code: Idaho Department of Health and Welfare Rules, IDAPA 16, Title 02, 
Chapter 11 “Immunization Requirements for Children Attending Licensed Daycare Facilities in Idaho.” 

 

Required 

Shots for 

Childcare 

What You 

Need To 

Provide 

Why Your 

Child Needs 

Shots 

Reference 
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2011 GUÍA SOBRE LOS REQUISITOS DE INMUNIZACIÓN DE IDAHO PARA LOS 

Padres de Niños Que Asistiendo a Guarderías Licenciadas 
 

 La Ley de Inmunización de Guarderías de Idaho ordena que los niños estén al día en sus vacunas para 
asistir a guarderías licenciadas. Siempre que los niños se juntan en un grupo, hay un potencial para la 
propagación de enfermedades contagiosas. Las enfermedades como la varicela, el sarampión y la tos 
ferina se propagan rápidamente, de modo que los niños deben estar protegidos antes de entrar a la 
guardería. 

 Usted necesitará el comprobante de inmunización de su hijo al director de guardería entre 14 días de 
la asistencia inicial. El comprobante de inmunización debe mostrar la fecha (mes, día, y año) en que 
su hijo recibió cada una de las vacunas requeridas. Si usted no tiene un comprobante de 
inmunización o su hijo no ha recibido todas las vacunas necesarias, llame inmediatamente a su doctor 
o departamento de salud local para hacer una cita. 

  
 

Revise el comprobante de su hijo para asegurarse que tenga la fecha de cada vacuna requerida para 
la guardería. Note por favor que la mayoría de los niños necesitan revacunaciones antes de comenzar 
el jardín de la infancia. 
 

EL RESUMEN DE LOS REQUISITOS DE INMUNIZACIÓN DE CUIDADO DE NIÑOS 

La Fecha 
Límite de Edad 
para Obtener 

las Dosis 
Requeridas 

Los Requisitos de Vacunación Para el Cuidado de Niños 
Todas las dosis deben cumplir con las edades mínimas y los periodos de tiempo (El número de 

dosis de Hib y Rotavirus requerido depende del tipo marca de la vacuna.) 

DTaP
1
 Polio

2
 MMR Hep B 

Haemophilus 
influenza tipo b 

(Hib)
3
 Varicela Hep A 

Neumo-
cócica

4
 

Rotavirus
5
 

Act- Hib 
Pedvax 

Hib 
Rotarix 
(RV1) 

RotaTeq 
(RV5) 

3 meses 1 1  1 1 1   1 1 1 

5 meses 2 2  2 2 2   2 2 2 

7 meses 3    3    3  3 

16 meses   1  4 3 1 1 4   

19 meses 4 3  3        

2 años        2    

7 años (o al 

entrar escuela) 
 

5 4 2    2     

1.  DTaP:  La quinta dosis no es necesaria si la cuarta dosis fue administrada a los 4 años de edad o más. 
2.  Polio:  La 4ª dosis no es necesaria si la dosis se administró a 3 de 4 años de edad o más y al menos 6 meses después de la dosis previa. 
3.  Hib:  Generalmente no recomendado para personas mayor de 5 años de edad. 
4.  Neumococo:  Generalmente no recomendado para personas mayor de 5 años de edad. Los niños de 14 a 59 meses que  
      completaron una serie de 4 dosis u otra serie edad-apropiado de PCV7, también debe recibir una dosis suplementaria de PCV13. 
5.  Rotavirus: La vacunación no debe ser iniciada para niños que tienen más que 15 semanas y 0 días de edad. La edad máxima para la dosis 

final es 8 meses. 

 Si en el comprobante de su hijo faltan algunas dosis, comuníquese con su médico o clínica para 
obtener los datos completos de vacunación o las dosis faltantes. Si su hijo recibió vacunaciones 
recientemente y necesita una vacunación en una fecha posterior de este mismo año, se le puede 
permitir que asista, con la condición que usted entregue el formulario de Asistencia Condicional y 
obtenga las dosis faltantes cuando éstas deban ser aplicadas. 
 

Si su hijo no está vacunado por razones médicas, religiosas, o personales, avise la escuela. 

 Section 39-1118, Idaho Code: Idaho Department of Health and Welfare Rules, IDAPA 16, Title 02, 
Chapter 11 “Immunization Requirements for Children Attending Licensed Daycare Facilities in Idaho.” 

 

Vacunas 
Requeridas 

Para Asistir a 
La Guardería 

Que Se 
Necesita 
Entregar 

Por Que 
Necesita 

Vacunas Su 
Hijo 

 

Referencia 




